

For Immediate Release: September 27, 2016

COMMENDED STUDENTS IN THE 2017 NATIONAL MERIT® SCHOLARSHIP PROGRAM
Salt Lake City, Utah – The principal, Douglas Bingham, of Skyline High School announced
today that Hayden Dilworth, Alexei N. Garcia, Olivia Heiner, Ethan M. Katz, Alexander C.
Lehnardt, Annika Machado, Joshua D. Norman, Mohith R. Reppale, Mikko Smith, Maia L.
Southwick, Anne E. Staker, Fynn L. White and Carley R. Williams have been named Commended
Students in the 2017 National Merit Scholarship Program. A Letter of Commendation from the
school and National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC), which conducts the program, will be
presented by the principal to these scholastically talented seniors.

About 34,000 Commended Students throughout the nation are being recognized for their exceptional academic promise. Although they will not continue in the 2017 competition for National Merit Scholarship awards, Commended Students placed among the top five percent of more than 1.6 million students who entered the 2017 competition by taking the 2015 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®).

"The young men and women being named Commended Students have demonstrated outstanding potential for academic success," commented a spokesperson for NMSC. "These students represent a valuable national resource; recognizing their accomplishments, as well as the key role their schools play in their academic development, is vital to the advancement of educational excellence in our nation. We hope that this recognition will help broaden their educational opportunities and encourage them as they continue their pursuit of academic success."

\*\*\*